Opeth have released another album entitled “”Heritage”” on September the 14th, 2011 under Roadrunner Records. It was produced by Mikael Åkerfeldt, and mixed by Steven Wilson, The front-man of Porcupine Tree and Blackfield.

Aside from Mikael’s death growls that were presented in his previous albums, this album is a homerun for two reasons:

Firstly, its an unprecedented piece of art created by Mikael Akerfeldt.

Secondly, because it’s unprecedented, you can’t really compare it to their older albums, or any other band’s.

They started off brutally in their earlier albums such as “Orchid” in 1995, “My Arms, Your Hearse” in 1998, “Still life” in 1999, “Blackwater Park” in 2001, “Deliverance”, “Ghost Reveries” in 2005 and “Watershed” in 2008, when they started off progressive death metal. They had their share of mellow music in albums such as “Damnation” in 2003, and their tenth album in 2011 “Heritage” was simply Jazzy!

It doesn’t have to be super-fast, or growly; it is simply different. When one first listens to the album, they say Opeth core is DEAD! But it wasn’t. I’ll tell you how; Mikael Akerfeldt is a genius. He can create music by clicking his fingers together, and just like that, he created another masterpiece. Some could consider it lounge music, something to hear in the car or when you’re chilling with friends.

I invite you all to listen to it again, only this time don’t compare it to any older version or any other band, just listen to it, clear-mindedly and totally absorbed by the music at 4:00 AM when there is nothing else playing except the music. All you can do is relax, listen to Jazz-fusion music with Mikael’s voice along.

To me, I can neither reprimand Opeth for doing such album nor am I disappointed. It is still Opeth, it is still beautiful music played along with rhythmical lyrics. You can feel the effort & the harmony. And that’s all I can ask for. I can’t ask for more. Salute to Opeth. I’m really looking forward to enjoying their upcoming albums with love and appreciation.


  1. Heritage
  2. The Devil’s Orchard
  3. I Feel the Dark
  4. Slither
  5. Nepenthe
  6. Häxprocess
  7. Famine
  8. The Lines in My Hand
  9. Folklore
  10. Marrow of the Earth
  11. Pyre
  12. Face in the Snow

“Heritage”, the new album from Swedish progressive metallers OPETH, has registered the following first-week chart positions so far:

  • Denmark: #8
  • Norway: #8
  • Germany: #9
  • Netherlands: #10
  • Australia: #12
  • Austria: #16
  • U.K.: #22
  • France: #24
  • New Zealand: #26
  • Ireland: #34
  • Belgium: #87


  • Number 2 on Finland’s official list for albums 39/2011
  • Number 2 on US Hard Rock Albums chart
  • Number 3 on US World albums chart
  • Number 6 on US Rock Albums
  • Number 8 on Danish Albums chart
  • Number 8 on Norwegian Albums chart
  • Number 9 on German Albums chart
  • Number 10 on Dutch Albums chart
  • Number 12 on Australian Albums chart

Reviewed by: Dina Yacout