San Antonio-based punk rockers Nothing Lost have just released their self-titled debut album. The record is a 12-track journey through many influences and different songwriting methods, all of which fall under the punk rock category. The album is just under 30 minutes long and many of the songs are 1 or 2-minute hard-hitting numbers that give us their energetic grooves full throttle without beating around the bush. 

The first track, Ten Years, starts the album with the solid first impression that these guys write composite songs that somehow maintain a level of accessibility and mainstream appeal. After half the track has passed, they slow down the tempo before moving to an energetic second verse. The song is filled to the brim with angsty lyrics, curse words, and energetic guitar chords that remind me of “American Idiot” by Green Day. The songs Burn and Not Alone are both shorter numbers that showcase drummer Josh G’s love for pummeling drum lines and bassist Chad K’s classic style of making thumpy and prominent bass lines. Bassist Chad K also shares the vocal duties with Guitarist Ryan R. They sing in a way that’s based around yelling and making statements almost as if they’re using a megaphone or giving a speech in a riot. 

The fourth track Ki Ki Ma Ma has haunting backing vocals and storytelling leads that match amazingly well with one another. The bassline that plays at the start of the song feels like it dictates the guitar and drums to follow in its footsteps and I loved that arrangement and how it made the bass the star of this song. Hit The Ramp begins with a super fast drum pattern and power chords that shine with the angry vocals and overall chaotic vibe of the song. There is an added guitar melody that was so brief yet impactful and I loved it. 

I think the track Save MacCreedy is a great contender for a successful hit single as it has melodic singing in its politically-charged and dark lyrics. The following track, Trade It All, mixes all the elements from the previous songs. It’s a 3-minute piece with a very distinctive bassline, fast-paced drums, and melodic vocals in the chorus. The time-doubling that they do in the last minute of the song made me wanna mosh to this song in a proper punk or heavy music festival because of how strong it sounds. Gatekeeper has more of these story-telling vocals with tasty power chords and drum breaks. The tracks Randall and 45 Going On 16 feel like 2 chapters of the same songs, as the end of the former beautifully flows into the latter. The former also has piano and strings in its intro which was a nice and welcome surprise. Brainfart is a short and fast-paced sort of comical number. Last but not least, comes the great track One Too Many. The track has slower verses alternating with a fast chorus and vocals that have amazing emotional delivery. It’s another great choice for a single and it will probably garner a lot of streams.

It’s unbelievable that a band of this calibre and consistency is still on their debut record. Many songs are bound to be crowd-pleasers in live shows. Their brand of pure gut-punching punk draws influence from some older bands and movements without deviating too far from the beloved standards of punk rock, and the 12 tracks sound really diverse and varied. This is not an album that has filler tracks or non-memorable lazy songs. On the contrary, every track here has its distinct sound and feeling and you will have many of the album’s grandiose moments stuck in your memory for days after you’ve first heard it. Cheers to Nothing Lost on this beast of an album, and I hope they get their breakthrough and present their punk tunes all around the world.